Who Should Read This
- If your Internet connection suddenly becomes unstable.
- If your Internet connection is unstable even after replacing the router or modem.
To reset the network in Windows 11, follow the steps below.
- Click the "Windows Button" on the taskbar and click "Settings".
- Click on "Network and Internet" and then "Advanced Network Settings".
- Click on "Network reset," then "Reset Now," then "Yes."
- Sign out of your computer.
- Sign in to the computer and update the driver from Windows Update.
If your wired LAN Internet connection disconnects and connects frequently, or if Wi-Fi disconnects and connects frequently, resetting your computer's network settings may help.
This article will detail how to reset a computer network settings.
Performing a network reset will remove all network adapters and reinstall them with factory settings.
This may result in the deletion of network information such as VPN connection settings and virtual switches.
How to reset the network settings
This site is run by Japanese.
All the procedures explained on this site are compatible with Japanese Windows OS.
My translation and operational mistakes may have an unexpected negative effect on your computer.
Please use the site at your own risk.
I try to explain and translate as carefully as possible, but if there are any mistakes in my explanation or translation, please let me know in the comments.
This article will now explain in detail how to reset the network (restore all network adapters to their factory defaults).
Click on the "Windows Logo" on the taskbar (press the Windows key on the keyboard).
Once you have clicked on the "Windows Logo", a menu will then expand upwards.
Click on the gear icon "Settings" in the expanded menu.
Once you have clicked on "Settings," a settings window will appear with the word "System" written in large letters.
Click on "Network & internet" on the left side of the window.
Once you have clicked on "Network & internet," you will be taken to a page that says "Network & internet" in large letters.
Scroll down that page and click on "Advanced network settings".
Once you have clicked on "Advanced network settings," you will be taken to a page that says in large letters "Network & internet > Advanced network settings."
Click on "Reset Network" on that page.
When you proceed to the next screen, you will see the following note.
This will remove then reinstall all your network adapters, and set other networking components back to their original settings. You might need to reinstall other networking software afterwards, such as VPN client or virtual switches.
The "original settings" referred to here are the factory settings.
Note that your registered Wi-Fi information will remain, but all network adapters will be deleted.
If all is well, click "Reset now".
After clicking "Reset now," you will get a confirmation message that says, "Are you sure you want to reset your network settings?
After clicking "Yes," all network settings are immediately reset.
If all is well, click "Yes".
After clicking "Yes," the message "You're about to be signed out" will appear.
Click "Close" to close that message.
If you leave it alone, the restart will begin after 5 minutes, but if you are in a hurry, you can restart manually.
Please save everything you are working on on your computer beforehand.
When the computer finishes rebooting, the network settings will be reset to their factory defaults.
After the network settings have been reset, use Windows Update to update the network drivers.
If Wi-Fi registration information is lost after a network reset, it may still be restored by updating the network drivers.